UNCG vs VT

Again, my non-UNCG job kept me from being able to watch all of this game (in perfect world I could read fiction, teach WGS classes, and watch/blog about basketball for a living).  PJ filled me in on the first half and I watched the last 18 minutes of the second half.

I am not going to do a breakdown of this game, rather I want to congratulate Simpson, Armstrong, and McNeil for an outstanding game.  Simpson came 1 point shy of a personal best and Armstrong and McNeil each set personal bests.

At the nine minute mark, UNCG had been credited with 7 fouls and VT only one.  The game that I watched was not so lopsided as the refs were calling.  As a result, VT made 34/42 from the foul line.  80%….where they should be.  UNCG was 9 points down at the end of the game and missed 5 of their free throws (12/17…70%).  UNCG is decent, but FT are a place that a team should be constantly working and improving upon.  This game it would have been more helpful to have refs in eyeglasses, but missing foul shots keeps teams from dancing in March….and I want to watch UNCG dance in March!

This game was hard fought and VT just pulled away.  I saw some good Spartan play, but I saw some messy passing.  Come on, guys you have Greensboro on your side!

 

