Is your bracket busted?

Another 12 hours of basketball continues to make writing for my dissertation so hard!

Today was a great day of bracket busting basketball. How did your bracket fair?

I was most excited for the VCU-Michigan game.  I had VCU winning this round.  Shaka Smart has a great team, does mad training with the Navy Seals, but Michigan just got ahead of the Rams today and they could not recover.  I also had Butler beating Marquette.  Butler is a team I have had my eye on since the fall. Remember that win against the Heels in Maui and the buzzer beater to beat Marquette.

 

Perhaps as expected, MSU beat Memphis.  Louisville won against CSU and Arizona bested Harvard.  Oregon (insert duck quack here…I always hear a quack in my head when talking about Oregon) upset St. Louis and Syracuse outlasted Cal.

The game of the evening was the dethroning of the first #1 seed, Gonzaga.  Wichita State came to win and they were fierce the entire game.  They played with confidence and refused to back down to the bigger, stronger Zags.  The Shockers of Wichita State sure lived up to their name tonight.  It was almost as if the Bulldogs did not learn from their first round scare by Southern and underestimated the fire that burned in the bellies of the #9 seed.  This was not a great scoring game.  Wichita State made 50% of their field goals and Gonzaga only 35%. A free throw contest ended what had been a physical game of basketball.  Of course making more of your shots from the line could have changed the outcome of this game.  The Shockers went 12-18 for 66% and the Bulldogs were only slightly higher at 20-29 or 69%.  When 6 points decide a game, missing 9 of your foul shots is a big deal.  But that is spilled milk at this point, tomorrow (really today at this point) is another day filled with basketball.  I need to get my feel because it will be a long time until October when March Madness is over!

